Crew luggage, rolling vs folding & lifting heavy bags

I just read the New York Times article about your packing advice for travelers. What is the brand and model of the carry-on luggage that you used in the slideshow? – Michelle

The bag featured in the article is a Travelpro 22″ flight crew series 3. My company also provides airline personnel with an 18″ rollaboard. For whatever reason neither one of the bags are featured on Travelpro’s website, but they do offer something similar – a 20″ and 22″ expandable rollaboard under the Crew 7 Series. If you’re looking to buy a new suticase, my advice is to play it safe and go with the smaller one. While I like my 22″ suiter and use it whenever I’m taking long trips, commuting to work for a week straight, or on vacation with another family member using only one bag, I prefer the smaller 18″ suitcase for the majority of my travel.

Savvy travelers know how to pack light. I do this by planning outfits around two pairs of shoes. While the suiter works well when I need it, it’s too big and bulky for shorter trips. Fully packed it doesn’t always fit inside overhead bins on smaller, older aircraft – at least that’s what I’ve been told. Though it does fit just fine on a 767. As for the 737, I’d been warned repeatedly by coworkers it wouldn’t fit, but I was able to get it inside both a regular and reconfigured overhead bin. That said, I didn’t have anything packed inside the suiter section of the bag. Who knows, maybe I got lucky. Maybe my colleagues pack too much. All I know is I got it inside the bin without a struggle and didn’t have to check it.

READ MORE

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Crew luggage, rolling vs folding & lifting heavy bags

  1. LiviaLunch

    The NYT slide show on packing had some fantastic tips, but I notice the list of clothes and items didn’t include underwear and bras for 10 days?

    • Heather Poole

      I addressed the underwear situation in my last galley gossip post! Basically – just didn’t want the whole world seeing it! That’s all. I wear it. I pack it. It’s small, so throw it in and be done with it.

  2. Kim Hoa Granville

    This is a welcome info. I’ll take dried sour cherries to munch in flight and my frozen cherries (reserved for clafoutis) to depuff my under eyes bags before bed time.

  3. marina

    what about winter?
    or you also recommend the thermal underwear?

Leave a Reply

