Flight attendant shoe review: Clarks – Honorable

I’ve been obsessed with Clarks shoes for a while now.  The first time I spotted these bendable, black, leather, Mary Jane’s were on a flight attendant at 30,000 feet.  I asked if they were comfortable.  She swore that they were.  Two weeks later I found them at a DSW shoe store.  They were sitting on top of a box and calling my name.  Even though I was shopping for boots, not work shoes, I immediately  slid them on and thought, Ohhh- so cushy!  I would have bought them right then and there but  The Husband was hurrying me along.  Men!  A week later while sitting airport standby at La Guardia airport I saw them again.  This time they were sauntering through flight operations.  It had to be a sign - spotting the same style of shoes three times in a month.  And so I did what any normal flight attendant would do, I went back to DSW and purchased a pair for $59.99.  

I had planned to only wear the Clarks through the airport terminal and then change into more comfortable shoes during flight, but because I accidentally left my “in-flight shoes” behind on an airplane on day one of my five-day reserve rotation, I wound up wearing this shoe for four days straight – for at least eight hours a day – while flying back and forth across the country.  Ouch!  Somehow, I don’t know how, I managed to hobble my way through it.  Oddly enough it wasn’t the 2 1/2 inch heel that bothered me.  The problem I had was with the toe – er, my toes.  While rounded, the front of the shoe slightly curves in on the outside thereby putting pressure on the baby toe.  Needless to say by day two of flying without more than a  twelve-hour break between trips, my feet were killing!  Does this mean I’m done with this particular style of Clarks?  Absolutely not.  Clarks “Honorables” are still very cute and oh so comfortable – but only on the ground during a reserve month.

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Flight attendant shoe review: Clarks – Honorable

  1. I’m always looking for travel shoes that look great but also provide comfort. Love your review, Heather!

  2. I think they’re cute but does your airline allow them? Neither of my two would permit any kind of decoration on the top. It had to be plain, plain, plain. Any buckles, flowers, straps, etc. were no-no’s. Most shoes are designed that you can’t take anything off either, without mangling them. Also, plain leather, not patent nor fuzzy anything. Depending on the fashion, this could be rather difficult to find.

    • Heather Poole

      All I’m going to say is when I first started flying buckles and straps were not regulation….

      • You were brave to wear the heels for 5 solid days. The ONE time I forgot my inflights, I ran into a store and bought whatever. They weren’t too comfortable and fell apart but at least I didn’t have to wear heels inflight-and I mainly flew 3 days (transatlantics, so long but anyway…). Learned my lesson and never forgot them again!

        My feet bloated up badly in the air so I seriously could not wear the inflights on the ground. I walked right out of them. I swear I go up a size (still! as a pax).

        I’m glad you didn’t do that to your Clarks!

  3. Besides my Tevas and docksiders … Clarks are the only business casual shoe I’ve worn in the last 4 years.

    Strangely enough, some folks I know in Britain would prefer Timberland over Clarks.

    I suppose it’s all relative.

    • Heather Poole

      Male flight attendant I worked with last week mentioned that he’s owned his clarks for two years! That says a lot.

  4. Pingback: Another Flight Attendant Writing

  5. I’m a flight attendant, I have these shoes, and for the most part, I love them. I say for the most part because the sole/ball of my foot will start hurting after a full day, but after 8+ hours on your feet, I think any shoe would cause a little grief.

  6. Jan Baum

    Just got hired by U.S. Airways – do you know what is the required style/type of shoe for them? Thanks very much.

    • Heather Poole

      Most airlines don’t allow anything decorative on the shoe. They’ll tell you exactly what they want you to have in training. Usually its conservative in style with a three inch heel for the terminal, flats for in flight

Leave a Reply

