Do you have what it takes to become a flight attendant?

A Cathay Pacific flight attendant shows off her Cruising Attitude

Hi Heather, I read your book en route to a recent flight attendant interview with United, and I ‘landed’ the job! I will recommend your book to all the other recent hires in my upcoming training class. Thanks for the insight, inspiration and humor. I cannot wait to embark on this newest chapter of my life! Rebecca

This is by far one of my favorite letters from a reader to date.  Partly because I figure if you STILL want to become a flight attendant after you’ve finished reading my book, you’ve probably got what it takes.  It’s not just a job, it’s a lifestyle, a lifestyle that 99% of people couldn’t handle.  If you understand what you’re getting into before you get called in for an  interview and can convey to an airline recruiter that you’re the right person for the job – ahem, the lifestyle! –  you’re only going to score more points.  That’s one reason why I wrote Cruising Attitude: Tales of Crashpads, Crew Drama, and Crazy Passengers at 35,000 Feet . Another reason was to help my friends and family on the ground better understand why, after seventeen years, I STILL can’t make long terms plans and why I won’t be home for the holidays this year.  Yep, you read that correctly, after seventeen years I’m still on reserve, still working over the holidays – and I’m based at the most junior base in the system!  You sure you want this job?